Milk and Stars

I forget.
I remember and forget
and remember again.

One day,
When all the mystique of idiocy
Has rubbed off life
Like gold lacquer from oak,
I’ll forget so wholeheartedly
(Or remember so completely)
That I will forget to not dance
And remember my home
Beyond memory and forgetting
– the place where you are waiting
With your hands of milk and stars.

I know you are waiting there,
But I’m too fascinated still
By the twisted mirrors in this hall.
I know the sun is shining where you wait
And the air is sweet as only
Coming home can be.

One day, I will go towards there,
But, I will not be there to arrive.
Only my dancing:
The footsteps of fire on water,
The everlasting bird that flies through the Earth.

7 thoughts on “Milk and Stars

  1. Just Beautiful.
    Such liquid light in your words, as always!

    These are my favourite lines:
    The place where you are waiting
    With your hands of milk and stars

    x

  2. I love this poem dear Tom! Beautiful! Thank you!

    “I know the sun is shining where you wait
    And the air is sweet as only
    Coming home can be.”

    To the glory of homecoming, one day, Yes!
    Blessings,
    Marjory

  3. dance upon the earth
    feel the energy of life
    sing in the rain
    feel the life of water
    run in the wind
    feel the push of power
    stand still
    and feel it all
    here
    now
    forever

    beautiful posting… each time I read it
    I go somewhere else…
    glad to have see you strolling by

    1. Ah, I’m glad. It is a strange job, to be a cracker-opener, not one my human self relishes. But when the words do and the time and place is right, I’m glad for it. Bless your remembering.

Please leave word - I don't often reply these days, but I do read and appreciate all comments. If you'd like to share my words elsewhere, please see NOTES ON SHARING in the top menu bar.

